March Blocks

First was the little cherry wreath – pure delight. (Sue garman’s Lilly Rosenberry quilt is next on my to do list, once Maltaville is finished, so this is good practice). Then the wreath – instead of bluish green and brown, I chose a really dark green to go with the pink, and think it’s OK. For the large floral shape I really went to town – a rather large blue obmre print by Mimi Dietrich, with an amazing Turkey red that needs a large shape to really shine. I love the combined effect of both. Last came the blue wreath shape – here I used one of the really old Smithsonian fabrics (either Rising Sun or Groom’s Quilt, I’m too lazy to leave the computer and check the selvedge) with the buds done in fussy-cut flowers from one of the Dutch Chintzes. Although at first I wasn’t sure about all that blue, I like the result.

Yay, only eight more blocks to go!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to March Blocks

  1. patchworkrose says:

    Ady they look gorgeous. Love them all. The turkey red looks fabulous 🙂

  2. adyquilts says:

    THank you! It’s a gorgeous fabric, but the pattern is so bold it needs really large applique to show at its best.

  3. wdwhellum says:

    You are doing a great job keeping up with the blocks Ady. I have fallen a hole, and not done any for ages. They look fabulous!

    • adyquilts says:

      Thank you, Wendy. It’s just that I know myself – if I let myself slip, this quilt will join the huge pile of UFOs. I really like it and can’t wait to finish it 🙂

  4. Margaret says:

    Ady, they’re all gorgeous but I especially love the use of the Smithsonian blue in F7. It’s terrific with the fussy cut Dutch Chintz. Not long now, mine is on the wall and I’ll be doing a post showing the whole thing today 🙂

Leave a Reply

