February Blocks

I was a bit behind on my blocks, so made an effort to finish February and March at one go. I started with the little wreath, because it’s so sweet. Then on to the large flower shape, whereI deviated from the original and opted for a favorite – a quirky blue ombre and gold from the Delaines fabric line, which I love. Althoug a bit bold, I’m pleased with the result. The on to the bunch of grapes. My apologies, Margaret – I dislike Broderie Perse and try to avoid it whereever I can 🙂 None of my rose prints worked here, so instead I appliqued two stray vine leaves, and hope the original maker will forgive me. For H 5 I chose another old favorite – a two-tone blue chintz from the (I think) Newark museum repro line, teamed with a lovely, really old blue ombre from the Calico and Chintz repro line. This month’s favorite? Probably the Delaine flower shape, although they’re all pretty.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to February Blocks

  1. patchworkrose says:

    I think tat my favourite is the little wreath although the Delaiine flower is a close second 🙂

  2. adyquilts says:

    Thank you! This delaines line is so gorgeous (it’s by Margo Krager from http://www.reproductionfabrics.com, from 2-3 years ago) – you still see it here and there. Do get it if you can – it’s wonderfuk for applique and also has a striped fabric that’s even more beautiful.

  3. Margaret says:

    Brilliant fabric choices Ady. I bought that Delaines fabric for this quilt, I love it, but then found with my other colour choices I could never get it to make it ‘belong’. It’s sitting in my stash for another project. It is perfect tho in your corner block. The extra grape leaves look great too 🙂
    I haven’t seen the Newark blue chintz fabric before, don’t think we got that one here.

Leave a Reply

